Module 8: Reflect and Plan

FAVORITES:

My favorite module was Module 5 and Module 1 because I got to learn something new. Module 1 was a favorite because I was introduced to  Voxer for the first time.  I really liked it for quick communication and providing people in my group with assistance.  I will be using it in the future if I can get our faculty to buy in – I think once they try it they will really like it.  In Module 5, I became reacquainted with Instagram better yet was the discovery of INK361.  INK361 allows me to aggregate my post into circles by topic. This is my photography circle:

2016-07-11_9-13-31

CHALLENGE:

The most challenging module in the course was Module 4 and getting the Thinglink graphic to post correctly.  However, challenge is not a word I would use.  I wasn’t frustrated or upset.  I tend to look at technology that is not working an opportunity to learn something new.  I enjoyed figuring out that is was because the graphic I chose was in the 3-D format that is didn’t post correctly.  

TWO TOOLS:  

The two tool I will use from this course are Voxer and the concept of a “Live” session.  In my daily work, I answer questions from faculty ranging from digital pedagogy to how do I fix my grade center.  Voxer is a great way to do that on the fly.  I don’t have to be at a keyboard or staring at my screen in a virtual meeting. I can also set a time each week for a “Live” session and use Blackboard’s Ultra tool to record and ask faculty to post questions in the chat. I can record the sessions and post them in my Blackboard shell. Both these tools could also be used by faculty in their own teaching practice.

NEXT TOOLS:

I am always excited about learning new tool and how to use them in the classroom.  One of my goals this summer is to pass the Google Level 2 Educator training.  A big part of the training is becoming more versed in Google Sheets.  I have resisted spreadsheets for a long time but I learned to embrace them as I was working on my dissertation.

The second tool I will think about integrating into my social media practice is SnapChat. I use it with my kids but haven’t used it in an educational context.  I created a Pinterest board to gather idea. The Snapchat feature I am most interested in is the ability to download your story.  What if you were on a field trip and everyone in the class created a Snapchat story, downloaded it and the shared them? Imagine the different perspective you would get.

GOALS:

  1. Watch the Google Sheets video list in the Jumpstart Guide and complete the Google Level 2 educator training by August 15.
  2. Take the Google Level 2 educator test by September 15.
  3. Have my family play with the SnapChat story feature to document a family adventure by August 10.
  4. Introduce Voxer and Live video to faculty by August 30.

LESSONS LEARNED:

I began this course because I wanted to watch Jennifer Gonzalez facilitate the  2016 JumpStart Course. She does not disappoint. The course is like her web site:

a vibrant, encouraging, stimulating community of teachers, supporting each other toward excellence.  Jennifer Gonzalez

Jennifer brought teachers together across disciplines, across grade levels and gave them a forum to find their voice. In just one  week, she created a community where teachers were asking questions, posting solutions and reacting to each other’s work.  We used technology tools that fit our unique needs and were able ask questions in a safe environment.  The course, its materials, and Jennifer’s private Facebook group were masterfully created. Thank you for an incredible summer adventure that I will continue on my own for years to come!

Leave a Reply

